EEU Member States Won’t Extend Benefits for Electric Vehicle Imports

Starting from 2022 all importers should pay a 15% tax on the cost of a vehicle

Despite the plan of Russia to support the electric vehicles market, Eurasian Economic Union member states are not going to prolong tax benefits, according to the Kommersant edition. 

No member of the EEU has supported the idea of prolonging zero import tariffs for electric vehicles. 

As some experts noted, the decision to put the import of electric vehicles in the same conditions as the import of internal combustion engine cars may be a huge obstacle for the development of relevant infrastructure. The Association of the European Businesses also said that zero tariffs are a great incentive for the whole segment, urging the EEU to extend the regime to the end of 2024.

However, Eurasian Economic Commission has prepared a concept of changes to the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System of the EEU and the Common Customs Tariff of the organization. The document suggests implementing a new tariff of 15% for electric vehicles starting from 2022. 

Public discussion concerning the idea will end on May 20. However, there are no objections from member states, according to the Commission.

As EEC officials have said, the new tariff is a reversion to the previous rate, which was reflected in the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System. A zero tariff has been implemented after a request by Belarus, and now this practice is coming to an end.

At the same time, EEU member states agreed to lift any import tariffs for sugar in the period from May 15 to September 30 this year, according to the Eurasian Economic Commission press service.

The new rule envisages zero tariffs for the import of sugar: into Russia for 350,000 tons; into Armenia – no more than 22,400 tons; Kazakhstan – no more than 134,400 tons and Kyrgyzstan – up to 40,000 tons of imported sugar.

Read also