Armenian parliament votes for new president

Vahagn Khachaturyan has been elected the new president

The Armenian parliament has elected Vahagn Khachaturyan, current minister of the high-tech industry, as the new president of the country, the TASS news agency reported.

«The candidacy of Vahagn Khachaturyan received 71 votes; therefore, he’s been elected the new president of Armenia,» said Hakob Arshakyan, acting speaker of the parliament.

According to the Constitution of Armenia, at least 3/5 of the 107 deputies must vote for a candidate to make him a new president.

In August 2021, Khachaturyan was appointed minister of the high-tech industry.

Read also