EEU lifts limitations on the import of electric cars

The quota for Kazakhstan is 25,000 cars for two years

The Council of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) has decided to lift its customs tariff for electric cars imported in the Eurasian Economic Union member-states in a limited quantity, reported.

Among countries that are going to introduce zero tariffs for importing electric cars are Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan. Currently, all these countries except Kazakhstan have in practice a 15% tariff.

The new rule also prohibits owning, using or controlling these electric vehicles by people who have either Russian citizenship or residence permit by Russia.

«We expect that these new tariff benefits along with other measures aimed at stimulating demand for electric cars, development of their production and expanding network of charge stations will facilitate broader popularity of this kind of vehicle within the EEU,» said Andrey Slepnev, trade minister of the EEC.

The decision is going to enter into force in April. According to the document, the quota for Kazakhstan is 10,000 cars this year and 15,000 in 2023. These figures for Belarus will be the same; for Armenia 7,000 and 8,000 and Kyrgyzstan – 5,000 and 10,000.

Read also