President Tokayev Approves New Cabinet in Kazakhstan

He has signed a proper edict

The new cabinet has been approved in Kazakhstan, the president’s press service reported.

President Kassym-Jomart Tokayev has appointed the following members of the cabinet: 

•        Roman Sklyar – first deputy prime minister;
•        EralyTugzhanov – deputy prime minister;
•        Mukhtar Tleuberdi – deputy prime minister – minister of foreign affairs;
•        Bakhyt Sultanov – deputy prime minister – minister of trade and integration;
•        Galymzhan Koyshybayev – head of the prime minister’s office;
•        Muran Bektanov – minister of defense;
•        Erlan Turgumbayev – minister of internal affairs;
•        Askar Umarov– minister of information and social development;
•        Erbol Karashukeev – minister of agriculture;
•        Kanat Musin – minister of justice;
•        Askhat Aimagambetov – minister of education and science;
•        Azhar Giniyat – minister of health;
•        Serik Shapkenov – minister of labor and social protection of population;
•        Kairbek Uskenbayev – minister of industry and infrastructural development;
•        Erulan Zhamaubayev – minister of finance;
•        Dauren Abayev – minister of culture and sport;
•        Yuri Ilyin – minister of emergency situations;
•        Alibek Kuantyrov – minister of the national economy;
•        Bagdat Musin – minister of digital development, innovations and aerospace industry;
•        Serikkali Brekeshev – minister of ecology, geology and natural resources;
•        Bolat Akchulakov – minister of energy.

Also, President Tokayev had suggested appointing Alikhan Smailov as the new prime minister of the country. His candidacy was supported by all 89 deputies of Mazhilis, the lower chamber of Kazakhstan’s parliament. On January 5, the president dismissed the cabinet of Askar Mamin due to massive protests throughout the country.

Read also